The Flick Chicks

Welcome to The Flick Chicks

ShoWest 2009 - ShoWest /Female Stars of Tomorrow

Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google BookmarksSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TechnoratiSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn


The female ensemble cast of Summit Entertainment’s “Sorority Row”, received the ShoWest 2009 Female Star of Tomorrow Award. Briana Evigan, Leah Pipes, Rumer Willis, Jamie Chung, Audrina Patridge, and Margo Harshman were presented with the Award at ShoWest’s Final Night Banquet and Award Ceremony on Thursday, April 2, at Bally’s and Paris Las Vegas.
“Yes, this is certainly a first, in being able to honor not one, but an ensemble group of six extremely talented and promising young actresses as our Female Star, or should we say, Female Stars of Tomorrow.”, said Mitch Neuhauser. “ShoWest has had a longstanding tradition of honoring stars in this category and we couldn’t be more excited than to be able to bring to the forefront of the industry, the vibrant and exciting breakout stars of the upcoming film ‘Sorority Row’, Briana Evigan, Leah Pipes, Rumer Willis, Jamie Chung, Audrina Patridge, and Margo Harshman, by honoring them as the 2009 ShoWest Female Stars of Tomorrow.”
Cast of Sorority Row
Photo credit: Stephen Thorburn
Releasing on October 2, 2009, “Sorority Row” tells the story of when five sorority girls inadvertently cause the murder of one of their sisters in a prank that went horribly wrong, they all agree to keep the matter to themselves and to never speak of it again, so they can get on with their lives. This proves easier said than done, when after graduation a mysterious killer goes after the five girls and anyone who knows their secret. “Sorority Row” stars Briana Evigan, Leah Pipes, Rumer Willis, Jamie Chung, Audrina Patridge, and Margo Harshman. The film was directed by Stewart Hendler and written by Josh Stolberg and Peter Goldfinger and is based on the original screenplay entitled “Seven Sisters” by Mark Rosman which was developed into the classic 1983 horror film “The House on Sorority Row.”

ShoWest is the largest annual convention for the motion picture industry. It is the only international gathering devoted exclusively to the movie business and the single largest international gathering of motion picture professionals and theatre owners in the world. The 2009 edition of ShoWest will be held March 30 – April 2, 2009 at Bally’s and Paris Las Vegas and is expected to draw more than 5,000 members of the motion picture industry.  Each year, ShoWest attracts delegates from more than 50 countries in North and South America, Europe, Asia and Australia.  ShoWest is produced by the Film Group at Nielsen Business Media, the leading trade show producer in the U.S. The Film Group also includes ShowEast, CineAsia, Cinema Expo International and Film Journal International. Nielsen Business Media also produces the Film Group’s sister publication, The Hollywood Reporter.

Photo credit: Stephen Thorburn

Jamie Chung
Photo credit: Stephen Thorburn

Rumor Willis
Photo credit: Stephen Thorburn

Photo credit: Stephen Thorburn


Photo credit: Stephen Thorburn

You are here: Home ShoWest News ShoWest 2009 - ShoWest /Female Stars of Tomorrow