The Flick Chicks

Scripter Literary Achievement Award

Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google BookmarksSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TechnoratiSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn
Eric Roth Wins USC Libraries Scripter Literary Achievement Award

USC Libraries to honor Oscar winner at the Feb. 6, 2010, ceremony

LOS ANGELES--(BUSINESS WIRE)--The USC Libraries have announced that screenwriter Eric Roth has won the 2010 Scripter Literary Achievement Award for his sustained contributions to the art of film adaptation. Roth previously won an Oscar for his adaptation of Winston Groom’s novel Forrest Gump and earned Oscar nominations for his work on Munich, The Insider and The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, also a 2009 Scripter finalist.

“I love the sound of literary and script in the same breath”

Dean Catherine Quinlan and the Friends of the USC Libraries introduced the Scripter Literary Achievement Award in 2007 and presented the award for the first time in 2008. The libraries now present the award annually alongside the Scripter Award for each year’s best adaptation of the printed word into a feature film.

“I love the sound of literary and script in the same breath,” said Roth. “I'm proud to be considered part of a tradition of literature, film literature. This award will make me stay up writing even later to try and get it right.”

Screenwriter Steven Zaillian will present the Literary Achievement Award to Roth at the February 6 gala at Doheny Memorial Library.

Roth launched his screenwriting career soon after graduating from film school. He gravitated towards literary adaptations, helping to craft film versions of the novels The Drowning Pool and The Onion Field. He emerged as one of Hollywood’s leading screenwriters during the 1990s, writing the original screenplay for Mr. Jones and drawing inspiration from novels and journalism for Forrest Gump, The Horse Whisperer and The Insider.

Most recently, he wrote the screenplay and shared the story credit with Robin Swicord for the Oscar- and Scripter-nominated The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, based on the F. Scott Fitzgerald short story. His other recent screenplays include the critically acclaimed Muhammad Ali biopic Ali and The Good Shepherd.

Roth is the third recipient of the Literary Achievement Award, following honorees Steven Zaillian in 2008 and Michael Chabon in 2009. Zaillian’s screenwriting credits include Awakenings, Schindler’s List, A Civil Action and Gangs of New York. Chabon took the honor last year in recognition of a growing body of adapted works that includes The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay and Wonder Boys.

The libraries also will announce the winners of the 2010 Scripter Award for the year’s best cinematic adaptation of the written word at the February 6 event. The writers of Crazy Heart, District 9, An Education, Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire, and Up in the Air are vying for top honors at the 22nd-annual Scripter ceremony.


You are here: Home Movie News Scripter Literary Achievement Award